Site Navigation

Your Account

Choose Language

Managing Users

Overview ¶ 

User Info is part of the Management Console, located in `/Manage`, and allows administrators to invite, search, view, edit, message and moderate all users on the site.

Learn more about the different functions of the Management Console here.

User Types ¶ 

User Plan ¶ 

Your User Plan shows you how many user licenses are allocated to your site.

  • Privileged Users are users with Admin, Author or Moderator privileges.
  • Standard Users do not have special privileges for viewing or editing site content.

Standard Users ¶ 

Standard users are primarily the "end-users" of a site. Typically, operators, technicians and shop-floor employees that will need to view content, but only interact with the pages in a limited and controlled manner.

Standard users can:

  • View public content on a site.
  • Post comments to pages where Comments are allowed.
  • Enter data on guides with Data Capture activated.
  • View and edit their own profile.
  • Join and leave public (non-invite-only) user Teams.
  • Be assigned as an Approver for an Approval Process (and therefore be allowed temporary access to private content to fulfill the approval request)

Standard users cannot:

  • View private content on a site.
  • View the site Management Console.
  • Create teams or join invite-only teams.
  • Create, edit, publish or delete site content.
  • View page history.
  • Create or assign Approval Processes.

Authors ¶ 

Authors have all privileges of standard users in addition to the ability to create, edit, publish and delete any site content and view limited areas of the Management Console.

In addition to standard user privileges, Authors can:

  • View public and private content.
  • Create, edit, publish and delete any site content.
  • View page history.
  • Create Teams.
  • View limited areas of the Management Console (including the Category Manager, Site Explorer & Site Reports).
  • Use the Patrol moderation feature for public sites allowing public editing.

Authors cannot:

  • Create or assign Approval Processes.
  • Invite users or edit user profiles/information.
  • Change site configuration or billing information.

Moderators ¶ 

Moderators are a user type that is only supported for Dozuki sites with an Answers page activated. Moderators also play a role in sites with Public Editing enabled (allowing any user to contribute to site content).

Moderators hold the role of moderating questions, answers and comments on the Answers page, as well as approving or rejected suggested edits by the community of users contributing to the site, ensuring that unwanted content does not go live on the site without review and approval.

Moderators can create pages; however, they cannot edit or delete live content on the site, or view Guide Page History. Moderators also cannot view Private content on a site.

You can also set a "Moderator & Author" as a user type, which allows all privileges of both Authors and Moderators.

Admins ¶ 

Site admins have access to everything on the site, including viewing and changing site billing information, maintaining site configuration settings, creating and assigning Approval Processes, and editing any user settings and profiles.

Adding New Users ¶ 

For private sites (not open for public registration), users must be added by invitation by site administrators.

Sending User Invitations ¶ 

To add new users, click the "Invite New Users" button on the User Info page. You can then select the user privilege preference, and enter the email address for the future user. Multiple users can be invited at one time by entering multiple email address, separated by comma. Note: You can only add multiple users of the same privilege.

Block Image

View our Step-by-Step Guide to Adding Users for more detailed information.

Pending Invitations ¶ 

Once a user invitation is sent, it will appear under the "Pending Invites" section of the User Info page until the invited user accepts the invitation. Pending invites can be "resent" as a reminder, or revoked if necessary.

Account Creation ¶ 

An invited user will receive an email with a link to accept their invitation. Upon clicking this link, the user will be prompted to create a user account (selecting a username and creating a password) before accessing the site.

Finding a User ¶ 

There are multiple methods to find users, depending on if you are searching for a specific user, or wish to browse users with a particular privilege.

If you know a user's account name, email address, or user ID you may search for them directly. You do not need to know their name or email exactly in order for them to show up in search results. For example, if you're looking for Chris Ten, whose email is Chris10@email.com, you can simply search for Chris. Be warned: all users with "Chris" in their account name or email address will appear in the search results as well.''

If you type in a number by itself in the search bar, it will only return the user with that exact ID.

Block Image

Browsing by Privilege ¶ 

Below the search bar you will find privilege sorting options to narrow your search, or browse through a specific group of members. Perhaps you know that Chris is a standard user, so in addition to searching for "Chris" using the search bar, you might select 'User' to hide all users named Chris who are not users.

Block Image

You may also use these filters to browse through all users, or users that have been banned or disabled. For more information, scroll down to Disabling Users.

Block Image

Administrator Actions ¶ 

As much fun as it is to look people up for no particular reason, User Info is also an efficient tool for administrator actions, such as changing privileges, moderating members, and sending messages.

Block Image

Editing Privileges ¶ 

The drop-down privilege menu allows you to easily edit any user's privilege. You may remove administrator privileges from accounts that no longer need them, add moderator or administrator privileges, or purchase more administrator privileges.

Editing Profiles ¶ 

Sometimes it is necessary to moderate the actual user profiles, in which case Admins have the ability to edit a user's profile at any time.

You can also use the Custom CSS feature to remove the user's ability to add or edit the user image, if necessary.

Disabling Users ¶ 

Users can be disabled if they no longer need or should have access to the site by unchecking the "Enabled" box next to the user's privilege selector. Disabling allows you to remove that user from you User Plan (freeing up a user license), without affecting the site history.

You can view all disabled users on a site by selecting "All" in the user menu filter and selecting "Disabled" as the filter option:

Block Image

Note: Disabling a user is recommended over "re-using" user accounts by changing the user account information (name, email, password), as this method poses a risk to the pages created by the original user. For example, if you change Peter's account into Joe's new account, any pages authored by Peter would automatically change to show Joe as the author. Likewise, all of Peter's history would now show as Joe's.

Moderating Users ¶ 

All online communities and forums have rules and guidelines, and there are consequences for breaking them. The 'Moderate' button next to any user will take you to a menu of moderation actions. Each moderation action includes a description of what happens when applied to a user, ranging from simply removing reputation points to banning a member for whatever amount of time is seen fit.

Block Image

Banning Users ¶ 

Though the other moderation tools are more self-explanatory, there is a lot more to banning someone than meets the eye. Banning a member should be a last resort option, exercised only when someone shows a complete lack of desire to comply with site rules or guidelines.

Banning invalidates a user's login for a specified amount of time. That person will automatically be logged out and will not be able to log in or have any interaction on the site.

If the banned user attempts to log in again, the message "This account has been temporarily suspended" will be displayed and the login attempt will be denied. Once the duration specified by the banning administrator has elapsed, the user's email address becomes valid and login/community interaction are restored.

Sending a Message ¶ 

The 'Message' button for each user allows an administrator to send an email to the email address provided by that user. Contacting a user directly should come before any moderating action against a user, unless the user's actions are especially flagrant or offensive.

Go back to the Help Index

Was this article helpful to you?

Yes
No

Didn't find the answer you were looking for?

Ask a Question